Home > News and Events > News > Literacy Awards Announced

Literacy Awards Announced

One highlight of International Literacy Day each year is the presentation of awards honoring outstanding literacy promotion programs. This year UNESCO has announced the following awards:

The UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize recipients are:

·         We Love Reading for its Programme in Jordan

·         The Centre for the Study of Learning & Performance (CSLP) at Concordia University in Canada for its programme “Using Educational Technology to Develop Essential Educational Competencies in Sub-Saharan Africa”

The UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy recipients are:

·         The Secretariat of Information and Communications Technologies of the city of Armenia in Colombia for its “AdulTICoProgram”

·        The Citizens Foundation in Pakistan for its “Aagahi Literacy Programme for Women and Out-of-School Girls”

·         ‘FunDza Literacy Trust’ in South Africa for its programme “Growing FunDza readers and writers”

These awards will be presented by the UNESCO Director-General at UNESCO Headquarters at a ceremony on September 8. Learn more about the award winners here.

In the United States, three organizations received awards from Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden and philanthropist David Rubenstein during the Library of Congress National Book Festival Gala on September 1. Originated by Rubenstein in 2013, the Library of Congress Literacy Awards honor organizations working to promote literacy and reading in the United States and worldwide. The awards recognize groups doing exemplary, innovative and replicable work, and they spotlight the need for the global community to unite in striving for universal literacy. This year’s prizes and recipients are:

  • David M. Rubenstein Prize ($150,000): Children's Literacy Initiative, Philadelphia
  • American Prize ($50,000): National Center for Families Learning, Louisville, Kentucky
  • International Prize ($50,000): Pratham Books, Bangalore, India

​Learn more about the award winners here.


Wednesday, September 6, 2017